Pullman Liverpool scoops double-whammy at Liverpool Hospitality People Awards

Picture of all the winners at Liverpool Hospitality People Awards holding trophies
2024 Liverpool Hospitality People Awards.
  • Pullman Liverpool awarded Young Chef of the Year and Head Chef of the Year.

  • Chester Hospitality People Awards finalists unveiled for 2024.

THE Liverpool Hospitality People Awards 2024 ceremony, recognised excellence and innovation in the city’s hospitality and retail sector.

Held in the Titanic Hotel’s Rum Warehouse on May 9, guests were treated to a drinks reception courtesy of Liverpool-based Think Wine Group before enjoying a delicious three-course meal.

Awards sponsor, Liverpool-based entrepreneur Katherine Jones, has crafted and refined a Prosecco and Pinot Grigio Sparkling Rosé with fewer calories and less sugar, all without compromising on flavor.

Picture of Think Wine Group at the Liverpool Hospitality People Awards

The Liverpool Hospitality People Awards, organised by Liverpool Hospitality Association, shined a light on the ‘heroes’ who “demonstrate dedication, resilience, and commitment in an industry that has faced unprecedented challenges over the last few years,” said LHA vice-chair Steven Hesketh.

The awards featured 17 categories including ‘Rising Star’ and ‘Unsung Hero’ and new for 2024 was the ‘Excellence in Retail’ award.

Titanic Hotel Liverpool scooped the Special Recognition Award and Bar Mixologist of the Year went to John Ennis, Manolo and Nick Thomas, Salt Dog Slims.

There was double celebration for the Pullman Liverpool. Up and coming star Daryl Jackson won Young Chef of the Year and the head chef Dave Rooney scooped Head Chef of the Year.

The Chef of the Year went to John Fitzgerald, hosted by National Museums Liverpool.

Ian Corkhill, Strawberry Fields picked up the Special Award.

 “I am proud to witness the unwavering commitment and passion displayed by our members. These awards are not just a recognition but a celebration of the heart and soul of Liverpool’s hospitality industry,” Hesketh said:

The winners:

  • Excellence in Food Service – Libby Starkey, Titanic Hotel Liverpool
  • Bar Mixologist of the Year – John Ennis, Manolo AND Nick Thomas, Salt Dog Slims
  • Barista of the Year – Harry Thomas, Crosby Coffee
  • Rising Star Award – Cameronn Dodd, Happy Days Group
  • Front of House Award – Kinga Walsh, The Municipal Hotel and Spa Liverpool – MGallery
  • Heart of House Award – Elaine Fearns, Staybridge Suites Liverpool
  • Unsung Hero – Liam McAuley, 30 James Street
  • Excellence in Retail Award – Red Run
  • Sales & revenue Star – Gary Mills, Leonardo Hotel Liverpool
  • Young Chef of the Year – Daryl Jackson, Pullman Liverpool
  • Chef of the Year – John Fitzgerald, Hosted by National Museums Liverpool
  • Special Award – Ian Corkhill Strawberry Field
  • Head Chef of the Year – Dave Rooney, Pullman Liverpool
  • Top Team Award – The Delifonseca Team
  • Manager of the Year – Kristie Palmer, Bold Street Coffee
  • Judges’ Choice Award – Barfection
  • Special Recognition Award presented by Hospitality Action – Brian Connor, Titanic Hotel Liverpool
  • Liverpool Hospitality Association Award – Marcus Magee, Hilton Liverpool

Chester Hospitality People Awards finalists unveiled for 2024.

NOW in its second year, the Chester Hospitality People Awards aims to highlight ‘exceptional individuals and teams’ who fuel the hospitality industry’s resilience and innovation.

This year’s shortlist features over 60 finalists competing within 15 categories.

The winners will be announced at the ceremony on Thursday 20 June at Chester Racecourse.

The Finalists:

Heart of House Award

  • Carol Coley, Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
  • Emily Jones, Storyhouse
  • Jayne Weston, Holiday Inn, Ellesmere Port
  • Laura Evans, Chester Townhouse
  • Lisa Cheers, The Moorings
  • Scott Pritchard, Artezzan Chester

Front Of House Award

  • Alex Ford, Chester Cathedral
  • Caitlin Walsh, Upstairs at the Grill
  • Elliott Minshull, Storyhouse
  • Kevin Critchley, The Chester Grosvenor
  • Nadiya Cole, Holiday Inn, Ellesmere Port
  • Zornitsa Chipilova, Leonardo Hotels
  • Rising Star, sponsored by Avrenim
  • Charlotte Lewis, Moxy Chester
  • Elise Smith, The Naughty Badger Bistro
  • Kacper Przybla, Upstairs at the Grill
  • Lucian Otves, Chef’s Table / Twenty Eight
  • Rachel Karlsson, Artezzan Chester

Excellence in Food Service

  • Gemma Hewitt, Carden Park Hotel
  • Louise Arthur , Rowton Hall Hotel
  • Nicola Perry-Hesketh, Chester Townhouse
  • Piotr Kasprzyk, The Chester Grosvenor

Sommelier of the Year

  • Boris Filip, The Chester Grosvenor
  • Cino Noir, Chef’s Table / Twenty Eight

Bar Person of the Year

  • Chris Holland, Artezzan Chester
  • Isaac Hartley, Craft and Company
  • Rebecca Hesketh, Chester Townhouse

Unsung Hero

  • Frankie Blythin, Abode Chester
  • Jeffrey Jones, Carden Park Hotel & Spa
  • Elizabeth Butterworth, Chester Cathedral
  • Mary Parry, Chesterfields
  • Rob Jeffries, Chef’s Table / Twenty Eight

Young Chef of the Year

  • Chad Jacobs, Pubs Ltd – The Henry Potts
  • Ellie Whitehead, Old Bishops Palace
  • Ged Jones, Boheme
  • James Ellams, Fish and Chips at Weston Grove
  • Oskar Abrams, Chef’s Table / Twenty Eight
  • Shaun Gill, Boheme

Chef of the Year

  • Andy Shelton, The Naughty Badger Bistro
  • Cyril Gabriel, Carden Park Hotel & Spa
  • Dilwyn Jones , Chester Townhouse
  • Jay Tanner, Twenty Eight

Head Chef of the Year

  • Chris Clowes , Pubs Ltd – The Henry Potts
  • Jade Cheema, Artezzan Chester
  • Ollie Potter, Chef’s Table / Twenty Eight
  • Sales & Revenue Star
  • Alex Atkinson, Storyhouse
  • Georgina Wainwright, Old Bishops Palace
  • Milly Leeds, The Chester Fields

Top Team Award

  • Chester Cathedral Events Team
  • Chester Townhouse
  • Commonhall Street
  • Ginger Monkey
  • Kathy Medlicott and Team Housekeeping, Holiday Inn, Ellesmere Port
  • Moxy Chester
  • Reservations Team, Carden Park Hotel
  • Manager of the Year
  • Adele Thomas, Chester Market Manager
  • Jamie Eley, Chester Cathedral
  • Kerry Smith, Moxy Chester
  • Lewis Connor, Upstairs at The Grill
  • Louise Kavanagh, ABode Chester
  • Scott Rankin, The Forge
  • Tracey Wilkinson, The Chester Grosvenor

To find out more and nominate click here:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here